Liliput Character List & Location Map

A brief bout of the “My Lungs are in a Vice” –itis had me delayed putting up actual scenes today, but here’s this for now. My original posting date will be Wednesday each week if all goes well.

Tada!

map base sepia

My loose remapping of 9th Century northern Rus-land (all rights reserved). If you’d like to help improve it, just ask!

^ Map Locations appearing in the Screenplay (aside from obvious castles) are marked. ^

Setting: Two of “The Three Kingdoms,” Dolina and Tishina (The third is Merya)

Time: Once upon C.E.

Characters (in order of location, appearance):

Dolina

  • Sonya Domov, 70s?*, herbalist and advisor
  • Nikolai Ilmenov, 60s, noble and advisor
  • Aleksandra “Sasha” Tamanov (of Merya), 19, princess
  • Viktor “the Great” Chelov, 60s, the Old King
  • Liev Chelov, 20, prince (later king)
  • Pavel Ilmenov, 21, his friend
  • peasants & nobles

Tishina

  • Andrei Lessov, 18, a prince
  • Galen Domov, 40s?, a sorcerer
  • Ivan I, 60s, “The Silent King”
  • Irina, 50s, a lady
  • Gleb Durokov, 40s, an actor
  • The Glumy men, his collective
  • Soren Domov, X?, Sonya’s late husband

*The Domovs have question marks because they are… interesting. Mm, yes, that is the word I’m looking for, interesting…


Glad to have you along on the quest. Feel free to comment, question, correct, suggest, and so on!

This is my first go at doing this in public and while I’m going for a fairy tale, anything that can help it feel more Russian and less German (my normal forte) would be greatly appreciated.

Meanwhile I am burying myself in books and blogs on folklore and looking up recipes for piping hot schi.

Want to help?  

This week’s questions:

  1. Liev or Lief?  Authentic spelling verses easier pronunciation?
  2. Do the surnames sound silly?  I made some of them up…
  3. Are there too many “S” names?  I’m beginning to think so…
  4. Any resources on 9th Cent. Slavic “castles”?  Post a link down below!
  5. The original tale is of a king and queen. I’d like to have a young prince and his fiance instead. If he becomes king, what title does she get?  Post a link down below?
